You Call This A Vermont Spring?

Oh my goodness. Today and yesterday have been… nice? terrible? I really can’t tell.

Let me give you an idea of what it’s been like up here in the North East Kingdom: Today as I was walking home with the mail under my left arm and the most recent New Yorker in my right hand the left arm began to loose its grip and lost the mail, a magazine stuck to my arm. Stuck to my arm. That is how muggy it is right now, strong enough to defy gravity. (Wicked The Musical appreciation note inserted here.) And later when I put the mail down I had to peel a different magazine from my arm and it hurt. (On a side note: according to “Mrs. Bridge”, a novel which I enjoyed immensely over the weekend, women would shave their arms… Thank goodness, I think, that times have changed.)

Right now I should be training for the marathon, the Burlington City Marathon, and it’s been way to hot to train. I don’t think that I’ll be able to run even my five-point-three (or five-point-four, one of the two) mile leg, although that’s definitely more of a reflection on how out of shape I am. I was going to go for a run last night around eight, you know, when it cools down a bit, but when I crawled into bed at nine-fifteen it was too hot for a top or anything more than a sheet. Needless to say that I did not go for a run that night.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Diary

Leave a Reply

