You Just Said What?

Hamburger Summit 2010 – Green Mountain Daily w...

Some perfectly friendly Vermonters-Image by origamidon via Flickr

After living in Vermont for close to two decades (my entire life that is) I tend to forget that outside of the Green Mountains politics tend to be… not quite so nice. Actually everything outside of the Green Mountains seems to be less nice but that’s a whole ‘nother post. For an example of this let’s go to our neighbors across the lake. No, not the Canadians, I’m thinking of the neighbors across the lake that’s not Memphramegog. Yup, Champlain which means I’m talking about New York. Now, to be fair to New York it has the Adirondecks, most of my family, fantastic shopping, a scoop shop named Custard’s Last Stand and gay pride events but they also have really mean people.

I’m thinking of this because as I was making a mess of crepes (post regarding my mess of crepes coming soon) I was also listening to NPR. During the 4 p.m. slot they interviewed Andrew Cuomo‘s opponent for the New York governor’s seat. All of you news junkies out there know that I am referring to Carl Paladino. Did anyone else catch Cranky Carl’s interview? [Note: I am instantly regretting using the nickname Cranky Carl due to the fact that I really don’t like it when politics turns to name calling but “catch Cranky Carl” just had the whole alliteration going for it. I mean it out of love Mr. Paladino and promise to be more respectful from now on.]

Mr. Paladino’s interview was… well, let’s just say that I don’t know what his issues are but I do know that he could use a mild rhino tranquilizer in the mornings to calm him down. If I find a link to the interview I’ll post it right away but for right now you’re going to need to take my word on this. The interview started with a mild question regarding certain challenges made by Mr. Cuomo’s campaign about Mr. Paladino’s ethics in business and possible mild hypocrisy. Mr. Paladino flew right off the handle immediately and never got back on it. At one point he even growled at the interviewer something along the lines of, “I defy you to…” [Yes, I know, I really need to get at least the transcript of this interview.] It quickly turned into the interviewer saying one thing and then Mr. Paladino just laying into him about, well, seemingly anything on his mind.

This isn’t the first time that I’ve noticed that New Yorkers tend to be a bit more, er, a bit more less polite than we hill folk are, almost anytime I pick up The New York Daily News or The New York Post I feel like I’m almost a hundred years in the past and Pulitzer is still concocting stories for his paper. Of course, we Vermonters aren’t always quite so polite, I seem to remember that a couple hundred years ago we set fire to a few houses of flat landers, particularly New York flat landers. But at least we simply burn down the house and then move on, we don’t go on National Radio and scream and holler just to prove that we aren’t “politically correct”. [Yes, Mr. Paladino did describe himself as being proud that he wasn’t P-C.]

Leave a comment

Filed under The Soapbox

Leave a Reply

