A Mess of Crêpes- Actually They’re Crepes.

Mastering the Art of French Cooking, original ...

This is (more or less) my copy of Julia and Simca's book! --Image via Wikipedia

First of all. These are not Julia Child Crêpes Suzette or even “real” crepes. I love traditional crêpes but sometimes I want the sugary Joy of Cooking-based recipe that my mother has concocted. In fact to prevent the food purists (of which I kind of am) from writing me about what a crêpe really is let’s just call them crepes. There are /ˈkreɪp/ and there are cray-pps (yes I made up that other phonetic spelling but I think you can get it.) I’m writing about cray-pps.

A few posts ago (maybe two or four) I mentioned that I was making a Mess of Crepes. I’m sure you were all on the edge of your seats waiting to find out what exactly I meant by this so here is the recipe.

First make sure that you like sweet things. Do you? Good.

The next thing you need is our super secret recipe. Basically we just adjusted the recipe in the Joy of Cooking. Here it is:

  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup of lukewarm water
  • 3 large eggs (home raised free ranged eggs are the best but I’m a bit biased)
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 3+ tablespoons sugar (add more as your taste runs)
  • pinch of salt

Beat it all together. Now take a flat pan, about the size you’d use if you were normally making crêpes or perhaps scrambled eggs, and add a Julia Child sized tablespoon of butter to the pan and heat it so it’s all buttered up. Now pour in the batter. All of it. With a spatula (I’d recommend against using a spoon or fork as the batter tends to stick into these particular utensils) mix it up like scrambled eggs. Keep mixing until it’s firm and lightly, lightly browned. When you’ve got this in your pan then drop it onto a plate. Eat it. Die of cholesterol. Enjoy.

This may not sound like a big break through but I feel like most people wouldn’t do this without some prompting. It’s funny how scared people are to play around with recipes. I’ve never really felt like I need to follow a direction word for word. After all if it turns out inedible then I simply feed it to the chickens or our garden and cook a frozen pot pie.

3 Comments

Filed under The Pantry

3 responses to “A Mess of Crêpes- Actually They’re Crepes.

  1. Oh, pshaw. You think that will make you die of high cholesterol? Clearly you haven’t had one of these: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_Down_%28sandwich%29

    What did you think of the crepes we had at my house?

  2. They were fantastic! You know the Skinny Pancake? The ones at your house were quite possibly better and much more reasonably priced.

    And I kept wanting to say “Yours” but am panicking because I can’t remember if it’s “Yours” or “Your’s” for some reason.

  3. aroomofheroine

    Your crepes sound delicious. Recently I made blueberry and banana pancakes, and I have to say, that they were not that flash: I should have bought butter to grease the pan, and not used olive oil.

    I had a French sweetheart once and asked him to cook tea for us, something from his homeland. Well, I didn’t put it quite so formally as that.

    He went to a lot of effort and made savoury crepes, filled with sausages and cheese. There were so many crepes (unfilled) that the pile was taller than the frying pan, and, we didn’t need bread for a while.

    Anyway, my all-time favourite pancake topping is (freshly-squeezed) lemon juice and a good sprinkling of sugar. Roll them up. Yum.

Leave a Reply

