Eating When You Can’t Taste Your Food

San Pellegrino

I want to marry that star. Or any cast member from the Harry Potter films, I'm not picky. Image via Wikipedia

I have a cold. My mother has a cold. We got this cold from my family over Thanksgiving. We now hate that side of the family. (And there goes me ever being invited back again. Which is a shame as I really, really like that side of the family.)

One of the troubles of having a cold is that not only do you have zero energy to prepare a meal you also can’t taste anything that you eat. For someone who enjoys food with a passion this is bloody annoying.

Tonight- Miracle of Miracles!- I had a lovely dinner and could taste every bite. For your reading pleasure here’s tonight’s menu:

  • San Pellegrino Limonata. This delightful sparkling beverage is sharp and lemony and one of my drugs of choice. I have four empty cans in my room right now.
  • Garlic Bread. Lots of garlic and melted butter spread over toasted slices of homemade bread. Did I mention that the bread was homemade? And only two hours out of the oven? And delicious?
  • Matzah Ball Soup. For some reason people seem to regard Matzah ball soup as bland (maybe it’s just North East Kingdom Vermonters) but the truth is that as long as you put in enough seasonings from the packet you can taste it just fine. Matzah balls are my other drug of choice (they’re readily available and easy to snort.)
  • Apple Sauce. Homemade apple sauce. From the trees in our (neighbor’s) back yard. Jealous yet?

Good heavens that was a fantastic meal. Much better than last night’s meal (a non-vegetarian sandwich from the Amtrak cafe car) and strong enough to taste from miles away. And the best part is that tomorrow I get Matzah balls for lunch. My life is just about complete. Now all I need is to hunt down Daniel Radcliff’s street address…

2 Comments

Filed under The Pantry

2 responses to “Eating When You Can’t Taste Your Food

  1. One would think that matzah balls would actually be pretty difficult to snort, unless you have nostrils the size of golf balls (and at that point you’ve got bigger problems).

  2. I say that as long as you can fit matzah balls in you you’ve got no problems.

Leave a Reply

