Me: 0 Sugar: 1

Yesterday morning I posted a nice little piece about me and sugar. Specifically how I wanted to begin cutting back on sugar.

Well… yeah…

Yesterday I was doing really well. Sure, I had two pieces of gingerbread (the first one was during my midnight hunger pangs and the second to give  me a boost so I could figure out what I was going to have for lunch). And to be honest I felt like that was good. I could have held off on the second piece until after my yogurt lunch but still, I’ve done worse.

But then came Starbucks. We don’t have a Starbucks within, oh, 1 hr and 30 minutes but we do have those little glass bottles of Starbucks drinks in the general store. I picked up a Starbucks Mocha thingy and after two sips I felt like throwing up. Being the frugal New Englander that I am I kept drinking it but finally admitted defeat and put it aside. The rest of the afternoon was one long period of depressive funk with a massive sugar crash.

Then I had dessert. When my father asked me if I wanted ice cream I said (quite proud in myself), “Nope!” And I could say this confidently because I had a lovely plan. I had purchased a 3 Musketeers bar (my first in at least a year) earlier that day and was going to have myself a little treat.

The instant I took my first bite I knew I’d messed up. See my body started screaming “TOO MUCH SUGAR! TOO MUCH SUGAR! AWOOGA! RED ALERT! ALL HANDS TO BATTLE STATIONS! PREPARE TO FEEL SICK!” But again my frugal instincts kicked in and I ate the whole thing (with the aid of a cup of milk.)

Now today I need to look in the mirror and say: You better watch out, son, because if you eat any sugar today I’m going to smack you.

And trust me, I will.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Pantry

Leave a Reply

