Me: 1 Sugar: 1

You know what makes a great post-dinner snack? No, not chocolate chips… not chocolate chips… chocolate…

Right, great snack. Toastable, organic, multi-grain waffles with local apple butter (made less than a mile from my house, how much more local can you get?) I was skeptical about the quality of the waffles since pre-cooked foods tend to scare me (yes, I am still afraid of penicillin, indoor plumbing and opposable thumbs) but they seemed fine coming out of the toaster and covered in nutmeggy-appley-creamy goodness they went down like a treat.

I think this is beginning to represent a changing point in my relationship with food. When hunger struck I didn’t rip the door of the cabinet off for chocolate instead I walked like the modern hominid that I am to the freezer and opened it calmly and then attacked the waffle with apple butter. It seems that I really just need to surround myself with good food. When clementines and whole-grain breads are within reach I don’t need to shove sugars into my system.

Yeah, it really is that simple.

2 Comments

Filed under The Messy Drawer

2 responses to “Me: 1 Sugar: 1

  1. Pre-cooked foods scare me, too. With a few exceptions, they pretty much taste like freezer.

    You know what scares me even more? Cell phones. I read a poll today that said 39% of women would give up sex before their cell phones. I can’t even begin to dissect what is wrong with that.

  2. Fresh, healthy foods within reach, yes! A very simple but wise concept.

Leave a Reply

