“The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet” [Review]

The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet

Image via Wikipedia

Once again I’m setting a book aside without finishing it and once again I have no regrets. On Wednesday the 26th I finally decided that The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet really wasn’t for me. Which I found sad since it came so highly recommended (“Oh! You should read this! The main character is like you! You’ll Love it!” Bullshit) but I just could NOT get into this little novel.

My trouble revolved around my dislike for Mr. Temcumsah Sparrow Spivet himself, or at least the author’s portrayal of him. One thing that authors seem to struggle with is remembering childhood. More precisely, they struggle with placing an appropriate age for the maturity of their character. T.S. Spivet was one of those characters. While I could accept that he was a twelve year old prodigy with maps or whatever he simply didn’t sound or feel like a twelve year old. I’m fine with characters being younger then me and being smarter then me but the level at which T.S. Spivet was expressing himself was simply too mature for someone his age. I simply could not suspend my disbelief.

The other matter that turned me off was the writing style. Reif Larson seems like a nice writer but he also seems incapable of making up his mind. I found that he seemed to want to use every metaphor and writing trick that came to mind and then would even jump around between those from time to time. Honestly it felt like the book could have used some major editing for style. The best I can say for it was that it was quirky.

2/5 stars out of 5.

Leave a comment

Filed under The Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

