My Top Ten Fiction Heroes

–You might notice that this was not the list I was supposed to write for Tuesday. It turns out that I have great difficulty picking non-fiction heroes. (The fact that humans are so complex and, well, human makes it rather hard for me to pick. While there are many qualities I admire in various “real” people I feel strange picking them just because I’ve read about one side of them, with characters in books and television shows I actually get to know the character and feel safer choosing them.)–

  1. Professor Minerva McGonagall, Headmistress of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling): What’s not to love about McGonagall? She’s got her wits, courage, tartan nightwear, acidic wit and a love of ginger newts. From her pointy hat to her wand McGonagall is a picture of calm confidence.
  2. Rory Gilmore, Reporter (“Gilmore Girls” television series): Basically I think Rory and I need to be married (a love of food, reading, learning, old movies, witty banter, I could go on). While I do understand that she’s completely fictional Rory still manages to show me that you can get through high school without needing to sacrifice “geek” things such as reading and liking your family.
  3. Miss A.  Minton, Governess & Naturalist (Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson): Very similar to McGonagall Miss Minton is a solid pillar of levelheadedness and an advocate of following your passions. She’s a reader, naturalist, teacher and is always learning. I admire her tact, solid front in the face of adversity and her kindness. The fact that she doesn’t infantilize children makes me love her all the more.
  4. Professor Albus Dumbledore, Scholar & Ex-Headmaster of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling): Albus Dumbledore has a very important lesson for me, we can learn from our mistakes. An advocate of equality and tolerance and treating teenagers with respect. While I of course admire his brains it’s his commitment to education (and keeping the dark forces at bay) that really puts him on this list (his homosexuality helped put him here as well).
  5. Granny Weatherwax (Discworld series by Terry Pratchett): An elderly woman as tough as the tacks in her boots Granny Weatherwax is a witch you can’t help but love. Whether she’s helping deliver a baby or fighting with the Queen of Fairies or meddling in peoples’ lives (ehum, Magrat’s) she does it full force. I particularly appreciate her firm belief in rules (and her ability to know when and how to bend them) and order. If I’m half as bold as Granny when I’m her age I’ll be satisfied.
  6. Atticus Fitch (To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee): Atticus represents what I consider to be America’s better nature. A believer in equal rights he fights his battles not with clubs or guns but in the court of law and he never seems to loose his head. He’s a great father, fantastic lawyer and an apparently perfect human (perhaps too  perfect, one of the only issues I have with Mockingbird).
  7. Hermione Granger, Member of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement (Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling): Oh Hermione, what can I say about you? That you were one of my first crushes? That for most of my writing life I’ve been basing characters off of you? That you inspire me to do my best? I feel like if you were to combine my comments on Rory and Atticus you would basically get what I want to say about Hermione.
  8. Admiral Kathryn Janeway, Ex-Captain of the USS Voyager (“Star Trek: Voyager” television series): When stranded in the Delta Quadrant Captain Janeway did exactly what I hope I would do in her place. She didn’t give up, she didn’t abandon her principles and she never really lost faith. A brilliant scientist, excellent captain and all around lovely, lovely woman.
  9. Doctor Temperance “Bones” Brennan, Forensic Anthropologist (“Bones” television series): Tempe is a woman who shares a core value of mine. This is of course the importance of scientific thought. Though she’s frequently put down in the series for being emotionally stupid I think of her as being sensible and simply different than those that she works with. I love her practicality and seemingly complete lack of fear as well as her dedication to uncovering the truth and bringing murderers (whether they be sociopaths, committers of genocide or simply angry spouses) to justice.
  10. Bilbo Baggins, Adventurer (The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien): When adventure came knocking Bilbo Baggins didn’t go out to greet it but found himself being dragged along all the same. Despite his initial reluctance Bilbo rose to the occasion showing immense stores resilience and courage. His love of food and his wanderlust and love of the woods in his backyard make me feel like we’re kindred spirits.

For yesterday’s list click here.

1 Comment

Filed under The Messy Drawer

One response to “My Top Ten Fiction Heroes

  1. Pingback: My Top Ten Artists | Lady Jane's Book

Leave a Reply

