How I Tolerate Wednesdays…

A recent Questionable Content strip.

A panel from a "QC" strip. --Image via Wikipedia

On a whole I prefer Mondays over Wednesdays. Mondays have this surreal feel for me that even though I’m in school my brain refuses to acknowledge this painful fact and so I spend the day in this dreamy-fog not really aware how painfully non-stimulated I feel. Also, I have my lit. course at the college on Mondays and therapy (I talk about myself- how can I not enjoy that?) and sometimes there’s a good Masterpiece Theater on PBS so Mondays aren’t really that bad.

Wednesdays on the other hand are more painful then hearing John Boehner say cheerily, “If some of those jobs are lost, so be it.” It’s around Wednesday that the full level of my boredom sinks in. I might get twinges of my brain solidifying on Tuesday but Wednesday it’s full force.

However, I can get through. It turns out that there are only three days a week where three of my favorite webcomics are updated at once and, thank the Great Bird of the Galaxy, one of those three is Wednesday . (The other two days are Monday and Friday.) Nothing helps clear up a case of apathy and gets your ol’ mental percolator going like three brand-spanking new webcomics.

My Mother Teresa-like instincts are now instructing me to share my webcomics to help out others in such dire straits. (Now most of these are listed on my blog roll, that list of links at the bottom of the right hand corner labelled “Other Books On My Shelf”, but this is me kindly compiling the comics into one list for you. Aren’t I generous and angelic?)

  1. Questionable Content: I wouldn’t exactly call all the content (published five days a week!) low-brow humor but not all of them are exactly SFW, unless you work at a really hip place like a cool coffee shop. “QC” is a “slice of life” cartoon that follows around a group of twenty-somethings, and one or two thirty-somethings, as they live their lives in Northampton, Mass. Sure, it’s bizarre at times and the humor might not be accessible to all groups but they always make me laugh.
  2. xkcd: It bills itself as “a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language” and I’m not sure I can describe it any better. But that won’t stop me from trying! The art is simple, just stick figures, but the humor is decidedly not. Contained in the boxes are jokes about web coding, physics, linguistics and humans being, well, human. While the information tackled can be pretty high level thinking (I don’t always understand the exact details) the humor comes across no matter what your background is. Also, if you read it long enough you start seeing recurring characters which makes you feel like you’re part of some secret club (maybe that’s just me.)
  3. Savage Chickens: One of my first webcomics ever and one of my inspirations to start blogging. Savage Chickens is kinda like Family Circus but with chickens and Monty Python-esque humor. Each post is drawn on one sticky note, though he sometimes uses irregularly huge sticky notes, which is a pretty good shtick. I wish I could describe the humor used but of all the three in this list I feel it’s the most random. So I’m going to shut up about it now and let you go read it yourself.

These are the regularly updated webcomics I read but while I’m on the subject here are a few more:

  • Khaos Komics: NSFW. This webcomic deals with gender and sexuality diversity in teens and I love it for that. It doesn’t hurt that it’s geeky, the characters are oddly attractive and it’s well written/drawn.
  • Hark! A Vagrant: K. Beaton is a literature nerd and a history geek and witty so you know, it’s a freakin’ great comic. Also she’s Canadian so there’s some diversity!
  • Hyperbole and a Half: A blend between webcomic and prose that makes me laugh, and laugh, and laugh. This is irregularly updated with stories from the creator’s life but I’m willing to wait years just to get a new hilarious post.
  • 3eanuts: Take Peanuts and remove the last panel and what do you have? Depressed children that are seriously funny.
  • Garfield Minus Garfield: Basically the same principal as 3eanuts but instead of erasing the final panel try erasing Garfield from Garfield. The end result is John Arbuckle demonstrating of the sadness and hilarity that comes with neurotic shut-in behavior.
  • The Perry Bible Fellowship: Um, so I know that I’ve describe several of these comics as unusual or bizarre but this one might just take the cake. There are only a few comics and I don’t know that there will ever be more, however, I think that any more of these and the world will blow up from oddness.
  • Yankee Pot Roast: So maybe it’s not a webcomic but it’s freakin’ hilarious. Every so often they publish a new article and the only connection this article will have to the one before it is that it’s one of the funniest things you’ve read ever. EVER. For the most part totally appropriate (just to show how appropriate it is I will tell you that it is not uncommon for me to print off articles to show to my teachers).
Leave a comment

Filed under The Messy Drawer

Leave a Reply

